What’s ailing my plants?!

Garden Rant is featuring What’s Wrong With My Plant by authors David Deardorff and Kathryn Wadsworth in one of their blog posts and are offering the chance for people to submit some problems for a chance at getting a diagnosis for the problem.  I thought this would be a perfect chance to see if I could find out what this issue is I am having.

I first noticed the problem early last spring on one of my dogwood trees.  The tree died over the winter and one of the first things I noticed was this grayish-green fungus looking stuff on the branches.  I mentioned it to my neighbor and we began noticing it on several different woody ornamentals as well.  On some of these plants the branches that have the fungus are dead while on others the branches are still alive.  We’ve found it on azaleas, dogwood and mountain laurel while the lilac, forsythia, burning bush, butterfly bushes and mock orange seem untouched.  All have been in their location for over 15 years and there has not been much change in the environment.

 Below are some pictures of the problem (click on the pictures to enlarge).

I’d really love to know what the problem is and what can be done to solve it with as few chemicals as possible (would prefer none!). Thank you for any input and help anyone can contribute.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Vesta on April 23, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    They look like lichens to me…basically harmless:
    http://www.walterreeves.com/landscaping/article.phtml?cat=10&id=437

    Reply

Leave a Reply

