Green Thumb Sunday

Green Thumb Sunday

Join

Things are growing faster than I can keep up!  We have had some good rain storms over the past 2 weeks which is great for the plants, not great for the battle of Me vs the weeds.  We had a real wicked thunderstorm last night which turned the peony blooms to mush.  

Here are some of the plants that are blooming this week-

miniature goats beard 

This is my Miniature Goat’s Beard.  I love the feathery flowers and it looks great against my Sum and Substance hosta.

white clematis

My white clematis has just started to bloom.  My purple one shouldn’t be far behind.

foxglove and butterfly bush

This is one of my foxglove with a sprig of my yellow butterfly bush.  It doesn’t look yellow to you either, does it? I bought it 2 years ago and this is the first year it has bloomed.  I was really looking forward to the yellow blossoms and yellow isn’t even one of my favorite colors in the garden.  Oh, the fun of plant buying!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Hi, Thats a nice yellow come purple butterfly bush, I’m sure the butterflies won’t mind.

    Cheers Mark

    Reply

  2. Are your peonies covered with aphid farming ants? I remember being fascinated by that when I was a little kid.

    Reply

  3. I’ve never heard of or seen goats beard before. Interesting and unusual blooms. I, too, think the butterflies will be happy!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Dawn on June 11, 2007 at 9:31 am

    I am not sure if they are aphid farming ants, but when it has buds, the buds do have large ants on it. It is interesting how they gather there.

    Reply

  5. I love the white clematis. Beautiful! The goats beard is interesting.

    Reply

  6. Oh! Your plants (and photos!) are just beautiful! My favorite is the white clematis. I just planted two Sweet Autumn Clematis’ which are supposed to have teeny white sweet smelling flowers this fall.

    Reply

  7. What a lovely foxglove. I have one of those too.
    Sara from farmingfriends

    Reply

  8. Great pics.
    Yep plant buying is always a mixed-bag

    mine is up

    Reply

Leave a Reply

