In the garden, everyday is Earthday

As a gardener, I feel a special kinship with the earth.   There is nothing like feeling the warm dirt in your hands or seeing the first robin in the spring.  Because of the respect I have, I try to garden in a way that is good for the environment.

Some of the things I do-

  • I compost.  Any vegetables from the house,  weeds and prunings from the garden and the droppings and leftover hay from my rabbits.
  • I only water newly added plants.  I don’t have a sprinkler system going everyday.  When we do have a drought, I have a drip hose for my vegetable garden that I use once a week.
  • I let my grass turn brown.  I don’t need a green lawn to give me status in my neighborhood.  Besides, my neighbors already think I am nuts!
  • Eliminating lawn.  I do like having some grass because it gives me a place to play catch and chase with my dogs, but there are areas I am trying to eliminate.  My front lawn is not big and my plans are to eliminate the grass and expand my perennial garden and have the front art be Vinca.  I already have one side almost done.
  • Don’t use herbicides.  Sometimes this can be tough because it is so easy just to grab the sprayer and spray those big, annoying weeds, but especially after reading about herbicides causing bladder cancer in dogs, I have discontinued this.  I use newspaper and cardboard to smother weeds.
  • Attracting wildlife.  I try to add plants that attract different species of birds, butterflies and other wildlife.  Just like many other areas, this area is being built up and open land is disappearing.     The plants will help give the wildlife food and a home, plus I have benefits as well.  Not only do I get to see species I wouldn’t normally see, but often they eat insects and other pests that most people use chemicals to get rid of.

What do you do in the garden to help the environment?

4 responses to this post.

  1. This is a very inspiring post. I do some of the things you listed and am working to include more of them. It’s a great reminder to us.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dawn on April 23, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    Thank you, Laura! Sometimes they seem like such little things that I have to keep reminding myself that the little things add up and make a big difference.

    Dawn

    Reply

  3. I’m trying to make my garden more of a pollinator’s paradise this year — with more flowers that are attractive to bees, butterflies, hummingbirds, etc.

    Reply

  4. Thumbs up for you! for posting this. I did the same thing in my blog and Im happy to find more people who are doing something good for our environment. This week, May 16th, in BC, Canada we had a “Turn if OFF Day” to promote energy conservation. People are encourage to do one energy saving action every day. Back to garden topic: I just had my second compost harvest this week, and I feel good I have given something back to our earth. My plants are more happier for the goodness of the compost.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

